Here is the CMT Uptime check phrase

Note: The following announcement was sent to the CSES email list. To receive notices like this one by email, please join the CSES email list using our convenient web form. Or, send an email to [email protected] and let us know you would like to join.


February 9, 2016

The Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) and the GESIS – Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences are pleased to announce a competition for the:

2016 GESIS Klingemann Prize for the Best CSES Scholarship

…for the best CSES scholarship (paper, book, dissertation, or other scholarly work, broadly defined) published in the calendar year prior to the award.

The prize is named in honor of Professor Doctor Hans-Dieter Klingemann, an internationally renowned political scientist, major contributor to comparative research, and co-founder of the CSES project.

Nominations are now being accepted for the current year’s award. Nominated works must make extensive use of CSES and have a publication date in calendar year 2015, either in print or online. Anyone is allowed to nominate or self-nominate a scholarly work for consideration by sending an email to the CSES project ([email protected]) naming the scholarly work and providing a justification for its consideration.

All persons are eligible to receive the award, with the exception of the three persons which serve on the Selection Committee for the year. The current year’s Selection Committee will be comprised of: Orit Kedar (Selection Committee Chair) of The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Stephen Quinlan of the GESIS – Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences, and Masahiro Yamada of Kwansei Gakuin University.

Nominations will be accepted until March 22, 2016. The announcement of the award winner is anticipated to be made sometime in May of 2016.

The award winner will receive a 1,000 Euros prize, and up to an additional 1,000 Euros toward travel, accommodation, and conference registration expenses to attend the award ceremony. This year’s award ceremony is anticipated to be held at the Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association (APSA) in Philadelphia, United States in September 2016. The winner of the prize will be asked make a presentation of their work at the award ceremony.

We look forward to your nominations!