Note: The following announcement was sent to the CSES email list. To receive notices like this one by email, please join the CSES email list using our convenient web form. Or, send an email to and let us know you would like to join.

January 16, 2012

The Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) and the GESIS – Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences are pleased to announce a competition for the:

2012 GESIS Klingemann Prize for the Best CSES Scholarship

…for the best CSES scholarship (paper, book, dissertation, or other scholarly work, broadly defined) published or finalized in the calendar year prior to the award. The prize is named in honor of Professor Doctor Hans-Dieter Klingemann, an internationally renowned political scientist, major contributor to comparative research, and co-founder of the CSES project.

Nominations are now being accepted for the current year’s award. Nominated works must make extensive use of CSES and be published for the first time in calendar year 2011, either in print or online. Anyone is allowed to nominate a scholarly work for consideration by sending an email to the CSES project ( naming the scholarly work and providing a justification for its consideration.

All persons are eligible to receive the award, with the exception of the three persons which serve on the Selection Committee for the year. The current year’s Selection Committee will be comprised of: Sara Hobolt of The London School of Economics and Political Science, Jeffrey Karp of the University of Exeter, and Markus Quandt of the GESIS – Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences.

Nominations will be accepted until February 29, 2012. The award winner will be decided thereafter and announced sometime in April of 2012.

The award winner will receive a 1,000 Euros prize, and up to an additional 1,000 Euros toward travel, accommodation, and conference registration expenses to attend the award ceremony. This year’s award ceremony will be held at the Annual Meeting of the American Political Science Association (APSA) in New Orleans, Louisiana, United States in August-September 2012. At the award ceremony, the winner of the prize will make a presentation of their work.

We look forward to your nominations!