Here is the CMT Uptime check phrase

Note: The following announcement was sent to the CSES email list. To receive notices like this one by email, please join the CSES email list using our convenient web form. Or, send an email to [email protected] and let us know you would like to join.

CSES Announcement: Inaugural recipient of the GESIS Klingemann Prize for the Best CSES Scholarship

April 13, 2011

Dear CSES user community,

We’re extremely pleased to announce the inaugural recipient of the GESIS Klingemann Prize for the Best CSES Scholarship, for works from the 2010 calendar year. Out of many excellent nominations received, the winner that has been selected is:

“Ideological Congruence and Electoral Institutions” by Matt Golder and Jacek Stramski of Florida State University

The article appears in the January 2010 volume of the American Journal of Political Science (AJPS). The person who nominated the work described that:

“In the article, Golder and Stramski test an innovative conceptualization and measurement of ideological congruence, which they argue, more accurately captures the notion of a legislature reflecting the ideological preferences of the citizenry as a whole. They use data from CSES Modules 1 and 2 to test their expectations and find that governments in proportional representation (PR) systems are not necessarily more ideological congruent than those in single-member district (SMD) systems; however, they argue that proportional representation (PR) systems tend to produce more representative assemblies. This article makes three important contributions to cross-national comparative research: 1) the conceptualization of congruence can be exported to countries beyond the CSES dataset, 2) it offers important insights into the debate about the relative merits of proportional representation (PR) and single-member district (SMD) systems, and 3) it has important implications for the study of representation, especially issues of conceptualization and measurement.”

This year’s award ceremony will be held at the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR) General Conference in Reykjavik, Iceland. A reception is tentatively scheduled for Friday August 26 at 19:30. Included in the reception will be the award ceremony, after which the recipients of the prize will make a presentation of their work.

Our sincere thanks to this year’s Selection Committee, comprised of John Aldrich of Duke University, Ian McAllister of the Australian National University, and Markus Quandt of the GESIS – Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences. We would also like to thank all of you who make use of CSES in your work, and those of you who sent in nominations this year. Finally, we would like to express our great appreciation to the GESIS – Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences for sponsoring the prize.

The GESIS Klingemann Prize for the Best CSES Scholarship is awarded for the best CSES scholarship (paper, book, dissertation, or other scholarly work, broadly defined) published or finalized in the calendar year prior to the award. The prize is named in honor of Professor Doctor Hans-Dieter Klingemann, an internationally renowned political scientist, major contributor to comparative research, and co-founder of the CSES project.